Sinn Féin has become Northern Ireland's largest Westminster party for the first time after a hugely disappointing night for the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP).

The nationalist party, which does not take its seats in Westminster, has won seven, the same number as in the 2019 election.

It is also Northern Ireland's biggest party in the devolved Northern Ireland assembly and at council level.

But the DUP has lost three seats from its 2019 total of eight, with the most surprising defeat being that of Ian Paisley in North Antrim.

The seat has been in Paisley family for more than 50 years, having previously been held by his father, and former Northern Ireland first minister, Ian Paisley Sr.

Meanwhile, the DUP also lost its Lagan Valley seat, previously held by former leader Sir Jeffrey Donaldson, to Alliance's Sorcha Eastwood.

Who has been elected in Northern Ireland?​

The first seismic result of the night came in Lagan Valley, where Sorcha Eastwood became both the first woman and first non-unionist MP.
She defeated the DUP's Jonathan Buckley, who was contesting the election instead of Sir Jeffrey after he was charged with historical sex offences.
Ms Eastwood said she was delighted, saying the party's result was a "huge achievement".
"I am a Lagan Valley girl born and bred," she added.
Mr Buckley said "boundary changes" and "divided unionism" lost him the seat.

In North Antrim, in a major upset, the DUP's Ian Paisley lost his North Antrim seat to Traditional Unionist Voice (TUV) leader Jim Allister.

The TUV, which is aligned with Reform UK, had been highly critical of the DUP's deal to bring the party back into power-sharing government in Northern Ireland.

The DUP also lost in South Antrim to former health minister Robin Swann, meaning the Ulster Unionists will return an MP to the House of Commons for the first time since 2017.

Elsewhere, here's who have been elected in Northern Ireland:

  • Sinn Féin's Cathal Mallaghan was the first Northern Ireland MP elected, topping the poll in Mid Ulster
  • DUP leader Gavin Robinson retained his seat in Belfast East despite the challenge of Alliance leader Naomi Long
  • His DUP colleagues Carla Lockhart, Sammy Wilson and Jim Shannon retained their seats in Upper Bann, East Antrim and Strangford respectively
  • The DUP's Gregory Campbell also retained his East Londonderry seat, but it came after a surprisingly close fight with Sinn Féin's Kathleen McGurk
  • Sinn Féin's Órfhlaith Begley retained her seat in West Tyrone as did her party colleagues Chris Hazzard in South Down, John Finucane in Belfast North and Paul Maskey in Belfast West. Dáire Hughes also won for Sinn Féin in Newry And Armagh, replacing Mickey Brady who elected not to run
  • Former nursing union boss Pat Cullen held Fermanagh and South Tyrone for Sinn Féin while
  • The SDLP's Claire Hanna also held onto her seat in Belfast South and Mid Down as did party leader Colum Eastwood in Foyle
  • Independent unionist Alex Easton wins the North Down seat from Alliance's deputy leader Stephen Farry
Screenshot (74).png