• Welcome to TIS

    To sign up please switch off VPNs

European Elections 2024


Top Poster Of Month
Feb 5, 2019
Reaction score

European Parliament elections​

Elections to the European Parliament are taking place on Friday, 7 June 2024. In these elections, EU citizens choose the Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) who will represent their interests in the European Parliament. Together with government representatives from 27 EU Member States, MEPs shape and decide on new laws that influence lives across the European Union. MEPs are elected according to national electoral systems.

In Ireland, we use an electoral system know as proportional representation with a single transferable vote PR-STV. European Parliament elections take place every five years. Voters in Ireland will elect 14 MEPs in 2024, one more than in the 2019 elections. A total of 720 MEPs will be elected in June 2024.

An Coimisiún Toghcháin carried out a review of the European election constituencies in November 2023. As a result of this, one additional MEP was allocated to a revised Midland’s North West constituency.

Ireland is divided into three constituencies for European elections:

  • Dublin – elects 4 MEPS
  • South – elects 5 MEPS
  • Midlands-North-West – elects 5 MEPS
The constituencies are set out in the European Parliament Elections (Amendment) Act 2019.

The person responsible for conducting the election on polling day in each of the constituencies is called a Returning Officer.